Colonel John's Cabin
This building, erected circa 1844, has been identified as the second home of Colonel John A. Zachary. It was later owned and used by Mordecai Zachary, one of Colonel Zachary's sons, when Mordecai's boarding house was filled with paying guest.
Existing deed records confirm that Mordecai sold the property in 1896. A few South Carolina summer people owned it, until it was purchased in 1925 by Georgie Belknap of the the Belknap-Waddell family who enjoyed the house for more than ninety years. John Rivers Purchased the property in 2011 and offered to gift the house to the Cashiers Historical Society if it could be moved. The structure, now called Colonel John's Cabin, was moved to the grounds of cashiers Historical Society and serves as an educational center and is a testament to the enduring vision of Cashiers' early settlers. It is the oldest standing building in Jackson County.